Get to Know Your Emoji ABCs

4 minute read

Learn the current Emoji taxonomy and the beginnings of the Emojist ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ“ƒ language.

Emojist Language ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ“ƒ

Our Emoji AI was introduced last month with alongside a history of writing systems in Hieroglyphs to Emojis: Writing for the AI Age. This post begins to develop the Emojist language, ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ“ƒ, the primary language of the Emoji AI. Prior creators have used emojis to create novel computer languages such as Emojicode, which โ€œis an open-source, full-blown programming language consisting of emojis.โ€ Emojicode is certainly โ€œMore Than Your Average Novelty Programming Languageโ€ and is still under active development after four years with over 2,000 stars on GitHub. Emojist seeks carve out a niche within human language. Over time, maybe our Emoji AI can be come bilingual!


English Alphabet

One of the first things humans learn when learning a new language is the alphabet. For English writers, the modern Latin alphabet consisting of 26 characters from A to Z is used for its writing system. Using combinations of these 26 characters every word in the English language can be represented in writing. New words are officially added to English through organizations such as the Oxford English Dictionary in order to cover linguistic developments. Singing the ABCs is a key step to learning a alphabetic language.

Uppercase A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Lowercase a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Emoji Taxonomy

Emojist uses logograms and glyph characters to represents a word or morpheme instead of an alphabet. Emojis are the morphemes used to write Emojist and are continually evolving. The standardized emoji set is maintained by the Unicode Consortium. As of the date of publication of this post, there are 1,809 unique emojis in version 13 of the specification and are updated annually. These pictograms do not technically meet the criteria of being an alphabet for Emojist yet, as the language and writing system of Emojist is still being defined. The Unicode Consortium currently breaks out emoji taxonomy into ten categories: Smileys & Emotion, People & Body, Component, Animals & Nature, Food & Drink, Travel & Places, Activities, Objects, Symbols, and Flags. The top categories include People & Body, Flags, and Objects with 347, 269, and 250 emojis respectively. Underneath the top level classification there are 99 subcategories within the taxonomy. Country Flags (258), Person Role (79), and Animal Mammal (64) are most developed sub categories. While humans have defined the current taxonomy of emojis, our Emoji AI is working to define its Emoji classification used in Emojist.

Activities Animals & Nature Component Flags Food & Drink Objects People & Body Smileys & Emotion Symbols Travel & Places
๐ŸŽƒ ๐Ÿต ๐Ÿฆฐ ๐Ÿ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ‘“ ๐Ÿ‘‹ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿง ๐ŸŒ

Emoji Riddles ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿงฉ

Our Emoji Riddlesโ„ข game covers entertainment, travel, sports, and business amongst the 300 riddles currently in the game. All ten major Emoji categories are used with Travel & Places (205) and Objects (195) being the most frequent. Since two of the six riddle packs are travel related the Emoji AI seems to have learned a few things correctly. Of the 99 subcategories, 90 are covered within the game with Animal Mammal (79), Math (76), and Sky & Weather (52) topping the most frequent list. Just like small children, animals continue to fascinate the Emoji AI in this stage of learning. As the Emoji AI and Emojist language continue to develop it will be interesting to see how the pictograph themes change over time.

Download Emoji Riddlesโ„ข on your favorite device and learn the Emoji ABCs!

Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play